Poets logo

Beautiful Skin

A double chin is just skin.

By Stephanie MaldonadoPublished 11 months ago 2 min read
1
Beautiful Skin
Photo by Alena Jarrett on Unsplash

Hey, girl, hey!

Did you miss me?

Thought you could get rid of me so easily?

Well, I’m back,

thicker and better,

a reminder of your struggles,

what you call failures.

“Shame.”

Pfft, I regret the very name.

How could you be so cruel?

To not only me, but to you?

Always trying to hide me,

refusing to take pictures with me.

Pushing me away,

dreaming of a fast way

to banish your “hideous shame.”

Don’t you know hating me = hating yourself?

Hiding me = isolating yourself?

Calling me ugly = degrading yourself?

I am as much a part of you

as you are with me.

Ugly is not our name,

our curves are one of a kind,

carved by the rhythm of life,

the sharpness of pain,

falling flat from grief.

Not all melodies are joyous,

even when it’s sorrowful,

it’s also beautiful.

Don’t hide me anymore,

or cower from your reflection,

it’s time to change your perspective.

Embrace my shape,

embrace my name!

Love every curve of your body,

cause girl, you are a hottie!

Shoulders back,

chest out,

sway them hips,

make them heels go “clickity-click,”

walkin’ with braveness,

struttin’ courageous,

so damn vivacious.

Now let’s chant it out…

A double chin is just skin.

Say it loud,

say it proud,

a double chin is just skin!

Thick or thin,

it’s all the same.

Don’t be ashamed.

Remember…I am only skin.

Like that of your breasts,

your legs,

your face,

the booty that draws the eye,

the hands that weaves creation into every task.

I am only just skin.

Rename me if you wish.

Embrace the beauty,

the lessons of every struggle.

Double chins are just skin,

and my,

what a beautiful thing it is.

inspirational
1

About the Creator

Stephanie Maldonado

An empathic over-thinker transforming everyday peculiarities into stories and music.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.