Poets logo

Beaten Egg with Cacao

My childhood snack time memory that came back to life.

By Mike OwczarekPublished about a month ago 1 min read
1

"OOOO dad, can you please?

Bite jajko, pronounced in Polish

as he responded to me.

Whether on the couch

sitting, watching tv,

or lingering in the kitchen,

lights dim, slightly flickering,

after dinner with my family..

he knew, and my smile widened.

First came out the bowl

and then the whisk

and then a cup or two,

all to bring out the final touches

of eggs, sugar, and cacao

to stir through.

Sometimes, I watched,

chin sunken into my hands,

mind free of any plans,

simply waiting to make

a cup last for as long as

I can take.

Ching, ching, ching, ching,

and faster and faster,

the egg white got beaten.

The yolk was separated;

here and there a finger lick

ready to be eaten.

Now the mixing

was all set to begin,

I realize I am getting closer

to the goodness of chocolate

being put in.

Clean cups being placed

and ready to serve,

whether in the kitchen

or my other spot,

on the couch,

rest of the world,

I could barely observe.

It is in my hands, yes!..

It is in my hands!

I do not know what is sweeter..

the beaten egg and cacao,

or the smile we have as

we take a spoonful,

catch each others excitement

in a taste and together glance.

Family
1

About the Creator

Mike Owczarek

The freer the pen, the better the read.

Poetry, Articles, Blogs, Journal

Fitness | Mindset | Journey

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalaniabout a month ago

    Simple pleasures of life - love this poem!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.