Poets logo

Beat

The plight of a romantic

By Andrew DominguezPublished 4 years ago Updated 2 years ago 2 min read
4
Beat
Photo by Shelby Deeter on Unsplash

A beat; a meet and greet.

A beat to a new friendship; a giddy me.

A beat, a new text, a silly gif; a silly me.

A beat, a new week, a new text; a new meet.

A beat, a second meet; a verbal breach

A beat, a dapper you; a meekly me.

A beat, a beat to our next meet; a meet of three.

A beat, subtle rubbing of you and me; an innocence, and an innocence not, beating inside me. Beats of what could be.

A beat, week after week three; a weaker me.

A new beat, a promise for the following week; an enthused me.

A beat, and beat, and beat every time you looked at me. Me and only me.

A beat, a renaissance beat; a beat to the melody of your art, of a beat to the melody of your heart, your heart involving me.

A beat, a beat of what could be to what should be.

A beat, a beat and waiting, waiting for the beat of our shared night. Our one night. The one night worthy of my beating.

A beat after beat, a beat, a beat to my body not; a beat to my heart too heavy. A beat I received like the masochist I succumbed to be.

A beat, beat after beat of you into me. A beautiful beating of me.

A beat, a beat, a beat; the beating seconds until our next meet and greet.

A beat, beating of texted evanescence; a beaten soul. A bloodied heart beating.

A beat of hatred, so I tried, a foolish feat. No hate, no hate ever.

A beat of despair, no need to try there, nothing left of me to spare.

A beat of time, time beats, time repeats; the evanescence of you and me. Now only me.

A beat, will it be ever again? You and me.

A beat, every beat. My heart still beats for you and me.

slam poetry
4

About the Creator

Andrew Dominguez

Greetings! My name is Andrew Judeus. I am an NY-based writer with a passion for creating romantic narratives. Hopefully my daily wanderings into the land of happily ever after will shed some light into your life. Enjoy!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.