Poets logo

Be as the bees if you please

Interview with an alien

By Evan LordPublished 7 months ago Updated 7 months ago 2 min read
1

The lights through the trees brought me to my knees

That’s why you find me here slumped.

Your large oval eyes are a bit of surprise

With a forehead so overly plumped.

And since we’re both here, I wish to make clear

I’m not the best earth has to offer.

So please look around and notice the sounds

Of the wind in the pines and the water.

If I had to choose the one thing to peruse

That sums up the best of our best --

Up there in the trees, we all know them as bees

And they labor as though they’re possessed.

They make our lands flourish and keep hope alive

As they maintain our delicate balance.

Without them our world would be but a stone

Rotating in dark, lonely silence.

The being seemed surprised through its unlidded eyes

And spoke in a series of clicks.

Somehow I read all the thoughts in its head

With a warning that left me transfixed.

"I’ve seen all your wonders, the mighty and grand

Your temples, great halls and your cities.

You possess many gifts as a means to uplift

Yet you focus too little on pity.

Your streets ache with dread and the visibly dead

Strive alone in their pain and their hunger.

Yet bombs keep exploding and it’s only fair noting

I came here to plow mankind under."

I stood there aghast, awaiting the blast

That I knew we have probably earned.

Instead he said, "No. In peace shall you go

I’ll depart with the lesson I’ve learned.

Of all of the earth’s beauties, this wonder with wings

Compels me to alter my plan.

For the sake of the bees, you may keep all the trees

and the sunsets and glories of man.

But I will be watching for signs of your change

From my vantage so high up above.

Take a tip from the bees and start meeting your needs

By working together in love."

social commentary
1

About the Creator

Evan Lord

The only rule of heaven is to follow your heart. The only rule of hell is to follow someone else's. I've written for everyone else during my career. Today, I'm following my heart and writing for people who love to read, laugh and grow.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Alex H Mittelman 7 months ago

    Great poem and funny picture!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.