Poets logo

Battle of Wit & Doom

A poem on struggle

By Precious RongmeiPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Credit: Precious Rongmei

I sit in isolation, one with my thoughts.

With a kind of desperation, the kind that is often sought.

A tap and a vein pops up,

That's when I throw my head back and with a smile I look up.

I looked up and I saw stars,

Or was it your face with the old battle scars?

The loving, welcoming poke

A glint here and a glint there, assuring me that it's no joke.

A distant memory it is, few hours of euphoria it was,

Trapped in the gripping passion of the steel

In the battle of desperation and wit, wit was left aghast.

What was it again? Was there anything I was supposed to feel?

Like the watchful Vice, you picked at my soul

Clawing your way into my stream, in your own way you made me whole.

I embraced you, not knowing that I was to become your slave

Oh, the fearsome euphoria! Somewhere in isolation, cried my heart "save..."

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Precious Rongmei

I am a freelance writer, passionate about birding, writing about the environment, and in a relationship with my binoculars.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.