Poets logo

Banished

A Unsplash inspiration poem

By Leslie WritesPublished 10 months ago Updated 10 months ago 1 min read
14
Banished
Photo by Léon McGregor on Unsplash

My shoes crunch through the winter rye

I pull my cloak tighter against the wind

The sun is but an ornament on this day

Alone on the hill watching

A landscape, a still life of props

They are my people

But they will not have me

I was banished

For things I cannot control

I will not break with the heaviness of sorrow

I will not ignite this rye with the flame of anger

I will use it to light the way forward

**********************************

This poem was inspired by Ashley Lima. Read more about the Unsplash Inspiration Challenge below.

social commentarysad poetrynature poetryinspirational
14

About the Creator

Leslie Writes

Another struggling millennial. Writing is my creative outlet and stress reliever.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  2. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  3. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  4. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  5. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

Add your insights

Comments (12)

Sign in to comment
  • C. H. Richard9 months ago

    Love this challenge idea and beautiful poem that tells a story ♥️

  • Poppy 9 months ago

    Beautiful imagery and flow. Very motivational

  • Sarah Danaher10 months ago

    well done drew me in and good take on the challenge

  • Wowww, this was so uplifting and powerful! Awesome work!

  • Babs Iverson10 months ago

    Fabulous!!! Inspirational and motivational!!!♥️♥️💕

  • Very very good 👍🏻

  • Lynn Fenske10 months ago

    Excellent! A dozen well-written, descriptive lines convey so much. Yet, I crave more, a short story perhaps. Is the narrator a man or a woman?

  • Sonia Heidi Unruh10 months ago

    That first line just draws you in with its sensory detail. I love the turn at the end.... the contrast between being banished for what the narrator can't control, and choosing to move forward in your own light.

  • Ashley Lima10 months ago

    Omg this is so wonderful! Love love love it

  • I love the inspiration 😉❤️💯📝👍

  • Donna Renee10 months ago

    This turned out so well!!! ❤️❤️. It seriously reads like the intro poem to a really cool novel! Lol look up the first photo for “Donna” and you’ll see why I haven’t participated in this one yet 🤣🤷🏼‍♀️ idk where to go with that

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.