Poets logo

Bandage

Had a Strange Dream, Created This

By Teya HooperPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Staring in the mirror

making eye contact with my reflection.

Tilt my head side to side,

checking for deception.

Blonde hair and green eyes

stare back at me.

Curious face and

Pale skin is all I see.

Must be me,

I think internally.

But something catches my attention.

A flash of red in the corner

of the reflection.

I lift my hand.

A blood soaked bandage wrapped

around.

Drip.

Drip.

Drip.

Drip.

What is this?

I feel no pain.

Feel no fear.

What is this?

I frown.

I go to peel away

what’s left of the material.

It oozes and leaves residue.

My finger appears…frayed.

The blood continues.

But I find no gash.

No cut.

No rash.

But still, it continues.

There’s another bandage in my hand now.

Instinctively I go to wrap my finger.

But it won’t stay.

The blood continues down

my fingertip.

Drip

Drip

Drip

Drip

A puddle forms on the floor.

Crimson red flooding to the door.

I look back to the mirror.

Still not in any pain.

But I get the bigger picture,

I can’t be fixed, so the blood remains.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.