Poets logo

Ballet Shoes

Uncle Paul's Worldly Advice

By Jean-EmmanuelPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

uncle paul told me numerous times,

“BE PREPARED. LIFE DOESN’T COME WITH A SCRIPT.”

I didn’t listen.

“What does he know, he’s just an out of touch movie actor with some tasty salad dressing”

flippantly, I trekked my own path

puberty knocked and I answered with gusto and fury

hell bent on asserting myself in this world, I didn’t heed any of his warnings

drunk on bravado and high off shoddy intuition, I jumped head first into activism

unaware of the soul aches that lie in wait for me as the rose colored glasses were removed, and the world revealed its many let downs

I figured, waiting on the world to change was akin to putting a pair of ballet shoes on layaway

sure I might need them badly one day, but until then I’ll survive

I’m fine!

at least I continued to reassure myself that I was

that is until I checked the calendar one day…

Recital on Tuesday, circled in bold ink

I’d yet to prepare.

seems as if in this world when you fail to plan, you plan to fail

either way, I’ve always been more comfortable dancing my way through life barefoot

just as nature intended

rest easy Uncle Paul…

you always knew improvisation was my strong suit

my uncle paul newman and I

celebritiesperformance poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jean-Emmanuel

I enjoy writing. Writing enjoys me. We’ve got a mutual thang going on...

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.