Poets logo

Bag of Books ๐Ÿ“š

โ€œDo NOT touch the bag!โ€

By Grz ColmPublished 9 months ago โ€ข 1 min read
25
Bag of Books ๐Ÿ“š
Photo by Aaron Burden on Unsplash

This young man,

Had a bag of books that

He would carry with him everywhere -

Fictional stories of every genre and age group.

The book bag must not be touched Iโ€™m told,

โ€œHow are you going to get through all of those?โ€ I ask.

He turns his head away,

Choosing not to dignify me with a response to

Such an obviously preposterous question.

I guess it shall be done!! ๐Ÿ˜

๐Ÿ“š

***

Thanks for reading. If you liked it, please consider hitting the heart, commenting or subscribing for more to encourage my future poems, short stories and film reviews. Many thanks.

You can read a couple of my other short bookish related pieces below: ๐Ÿ‘‡

performance poetry
25

About the Creator

Grz Colm

Film and TV reviews, ๐ŸŽž as well as short stories and free verse poems.

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  2. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  3. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  4. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  5. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (22)

Sign in to comment
  • Tiffany Gordon 6 months ago

    cute stuff!

  • Donna Renee7 months ago

    Love it! Definitely relate to this kid/character tooโ€ฆ โ˜บ๏ธ you can fit more books in if you play Tetris with them!!

  • Kristen Balyeat9 months ago

    I still carry a bag of books when I travelโ€“ more than I could ever get through. Lol! Cute piece, Grz!!!๐Ÿ’ซ

  • Harmony Kent9 months ago

    I can so relate ... if I'm not working or writing, I'm reading! Well done, Grz ๐Ÿ’•๐Ÿ˜Š

  • Racharoonie9 months ago

    Whatโ€™s in the damn bag though? We need. Follow up poem!

  • Test9 months ago

    That was me, haha, as a kid. Nice writing.๐Ÿ‘Pernoste

  • Gina C.9 months ago

    I relate very much to this, my friend! Don't touch my book bag ๐Ÿค— This was fun!

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    Selfishness, justified, lol. Great poem!

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    Yes! I used to carry a bag of books with me all the time as a kid. Loved your poem!

  • Cathy holmes9 months ago

    Yup. Just leave his books alone . Well done.

  • That young man sounds a lot like me, lol! Loved your poem, G!

  • Donna Fox (HKB)9 months ago

    I love the relatable feel this has with the protagonist! He's clearly had enough of the interruptions and just wants to live in his little fantasy world! Great perspective and narrative, love this!

  • Antoinette L Brey9 months ago

    Nice poem. That was me when I was younger

  • Seems a given, Never touch the bag...duh! Great job

  • That little boy was me, lol!

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Cool performance poem.!!! Loving it!!!โค๏ธโค๏ธ๐Ÿ’•

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    Since Vocal, my book reading has declined. I am determined to bring it back up. Yet I interchange between the two as this is so addictive. Now here i am reading your poem, a break from my trusty book. This lad is me, don't touch my bookbag dude.

  • Heather Hubler9 months ago

    Lol, I can identify with bookbag guy :). This was so great.

  • Mother Combs9 months ago

    Love this

  • Lol ๐Ÿ˜† Love it ๐Ÿ’ฏโค๏ธโ—

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    Some people can read at least one book a day depending on the pages

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

ยฉ 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.