Poets logo

Bad Kid Wonderland Brain

A poem about judgment, creativity, and ADHD--and what it feels like when we don't make space for neurodivergence.

By Katey FerreiraPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
2
Bad Kid Wonderland Brain
Photo by 🇻🇪 Jose G. Ortega Castro 🇲🇽 on Unsplash

Colored outside the lines again

Choked

On black and white rules

Can’t get it right

-

Judges say it's easy

Just try--Don't be lazy

And I’m like

Oh my god--Stop

-

Easy just and lazy

Those four-letter

Ableist curses

-

I’ve heard ADHD

Called invisible--That's funny

Cuz my sins pull focus

-

Too much--Too loud--Can't keep up

She's a mess

Branded bad kid

Out of line

She’s not even trying

-

Textbook symptoms can't keep quiet

Flashing yellow--Caution

Don't play with her

Take warning

-

And I'm like--Please--Stop

I heard you--It hurts

Look

Thin skin

Bruised blue

-

Like last-minute homework

I'm returned--Rejected

Scarred in red pen

-

Standing

Alone on the gallows

Lit yellow--blue--red

-

Facing judges--always--again

All lined up--Armed

In matching black and white

Dressed to kill

-

Enough

Burn that script

Blood dried

I'm done

-

I won't plead

This time

I'm telling you

Keep your noose off my neck

Look--Reflect

-

Here--I brought us a mirror

-

Judges

Meet yourselves

Cold-eyed and captive

Gripping skeleton keys

To self-made cages

White and black looking back

All wearing tragedy's mask

-

And me

Already

I'm gone like Alice

Chasing bright magic chaos

Primary colors--Wonderland brain

All options--No lines needed

-

See

While you met your own

White wigs--black robes and masks

I escaped through the glass

social commentary
2

About the Creator

Katey Ferreira

I have Mars in Aries in my chart, so you can probably blame that.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.