Poets logo

Content warning

This story may contain sensitive material or discuss topics that some readers may find distressing. Reader discretion is advised. The views and opinions expressed in this story are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect the official policy or position of Vocal.

Bad Attitude

Irresistable Farce

By Gerard DiLeoPublished 5 months ago 1 min read
Bad Attitude
Photo by Andre Hunter on Unsplash

That's it, I'm done!

Malleable no more.

The charges all were set

The day I was bore.

.

The tripwire strung

Th'day I was retrieved,

So violently the day

My placenta was cleaved.

.

One side, world!

I'm coming through.

Anemic or not,

Nothin' n'one can do.

.

L'il 'plosions gonna blast

Africates to Smith'reens.

The fuse hisses sibilant

By the friction it deems.

.

Scratch me off the fuckin' list!

Consider me nil, nul, and nailed;

I abdicated my membership

Soon as the resta my world bailed.

.

We juggernauts with heavy feet

Self-appoint our right-of-way,

So I can drive on the right or the left

Postin' mail'n full battle array.

.

Speed is a breed where

I pass on the right;

Run, off the road, 'cause

Might makes fright.

.

Intersections have rules

For everyone 'cept me;

They just don't apply

Through my wake of debris.

.

Yellow winks caution;

Red means go!

You can't stop now;

I won't go slow.

.

I live just to die

And I'll die when that be,

And I'll take as many as can,

In my way, in front of me.

performance poetryMental Health

About the Creator

Gerard DiLeo

Retired, not tired. In Life Phase II: Living and writing from a decommissioned church in Hull, MA. (Phase I was New Orleans and everything that entails. Hippocampus, behave!

https://www.amazon.com/Gerard-DiLeo/e/B00JE6LL2W/

[email protected]

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

  • Dharrsheena Raja Segarran5 months ago

    Whoaaaa, this was so freaking intense! I loved it!

  • Rachel Deeming5 months ago

    Sounds like an ass to me! Liked the rhyme and rhythm of this, Gerard.

Gerard DiLeoWritten by Gerard DiLeo

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.