Poets logo

Back in America

Michael Marchese

By Michael Brandon MarchesePublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like

To be back in America

Comfort and solace

I'd find in amenities,

Pleasantries,

Remedies

For my deprived of joy blues

My relinquishing of

All the foods I could choose

To indulge in

To bring

Satisfaction

Contention

But still such an emptiness

Failure

To mention

What eats me

And haunts

Such a gaunt

Figure, frail

When this sinister skeleton's

Soul is for sale

Everyday I'm a part

Of the whole status quo

That no matter where I

Seem to go

Goes to show

There is no extrication

No true liberation,

Release

From the grip

From the clutches'

Injustice

For all we submit

To mentality mobs

And the slave-driver's whip

Ever am I the servant

Out here

Or back home

Ever pushing uphill

My infinity stone

But the masters

I find

I could be

Seldom times

Simple rhymes

Are my land of the free

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.