Poets logo

Back Home Again

Beds are Burning

By Rick Henry Christopher Published 9 months ago 1 min read
Top Story - August 2023
37
Back Home Again
Photo by Ankhesenamun on Unsplash

Calling planet Earth

Do you hear me

Earthling from my birth

Solid rearing

+++

Playing in the dirt

Forming shapes with the mud

I love the feel of earth

In my soul, in my blood

+++

Planet Earth is blue

I love standing near the shore

I've got a clue

Peace comes from the Earth's core

+++

Planet Earth is rotating

Moving and turning

Keeping balance gyrating

Back home again but our earth is burning

≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈

Songs from which I borrowed a lyric or two…

The line "I've Got a Clue" is from a song I wrote when I was the lead singer for the rock band Thunder Lizards.

≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ ≈ 

This poem is in response to Mariann Carroll and Stephen Avitable who both tagged me and both chose the Earth community for me.

This is part of Oneg’s and James’ Summer Writing Challenge.

With Love, RHC

surreal poetrysocial commentaryperformance poetrynature poetryinspirationalart
37

About the Creator

Rick Henry Christopher

Writing is a distraction to fulfill my need for intellectual stimulus, emotional release, and soothing the bruises of the day.

The shattered pieces of life will not discourage me.

https://www.facebook.com/groups/vocalplusassist

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

Add your insights

Comments (26)

Sign in to comment
  • Kayleigh Fraser ✨8 months ago

    Thunder Lizards! Love the name ☺️ and lovely poem :)

  • Really enjoyed these words and songs. Fantastic job Rick

  • Novel Allen9 months ago

    Wonderful words of movements of our world. Finding comfort and peace within her embrace. Great story

  • Mariann Carroll9 months ago

    This poem was great, Well deserve Top Story 🥳👏

  • Dana Stewart9 months ago

    Fantastic poem Rick! You rose to the challenge and wrote about an important topic. Congratulations 🎉

  • Naveed Ahmed Syed9 months ago

    A heartfelt ode to Earth's beauty and resilience through poetic lines!

  • Alex H Mittelman 9 months ago

    Great work!

  • Wow this was powerful! Really made me want to take my shoes off and stand barefoot on the earth. I loved the language you used. And great songs you chose for this. Especially like Space Oddity. And by the way, wait what? You were in a band too? I didn’t know that!

  • Glad you took up their challenge. Congratulations on Top Story!

  • Gerald Holmes9 months ago

    Great poem Rick. I love what you did here. Congrats on the Top STORY.

  • Great job on this one Rick❗ Congratulations on your Top Story🎉🎉🎉🎉

  • Lamar Wiggins9 months ago

    I felt this, Rick. Great job. And now all I can think about is the thunder lizards. What genre was this band?

  • Antoinette L Brey9 months ago

    Good job

  • Cendrine Marrouat9 months ago

    When I saw the reference to Midnight Oil's song, I was like: This is going to be a great, great poem! You didn't disappoint!

  • Amazing job, Rick

  • Gina C.9 months ago

    Beautiful job! ❤️

  • Sheila L. Chingwa9 months ago

    My friend, I loved this piece.

  • J. Delaney-Howe9 months ago

    If ever a poem was written for this time on planet earth, this is the one. Great work. I love that you included the songs that inspired the poem.

  • Babs Iverson9 months ago

    Oh, yes!!! Wonderfully written!!! Loved this!!!❤️❤️💕

  • Suze Kay9 months ago

    Especially after seeing pictures of the devastating fires in Hawaii, this poem hits pretty hard! Gorgeous work, Rick.

  • Jazzy 9 months ago

    This is fantastic! ❤️

  • This was such a beautiful tribute to the Earth! You nailed this challenge!

  • Tiffany Gordon 9 months ago

    Nice job! Your poem reads like song lyrics!

  • The conversation begins to heat up. Unfortunately, it required the earth heating up enough to make the powers that be uncomfortable.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.