Poets logo

Baby Blue

An ode to losing yourself

By Rejjia CamphorPublished 3 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

I am baby blue

in the way that I love you.

I am small, easily belittled

and sad because I hate who I am with you.

Your favorite color is purple.

Ironic because that's the color of peace

and that's all I wanted.

You were all I wanted.

You were me in so many ways I didn't know;

how an anxious mind could be so full of love

but hold none for herself.

how such a beautiful soul could be so interesting to everyone

but not to herself.

Just like baby blue

lovely to look at

but inside, it lacks

transparancy;

like the sky, so blue

yet its really black

like the ocean, so blue

yet so clear and green

and black and red.

baby

how ignorant you are

I mean I am

baby

such a young mind

full of everything and nothing

at the same time

baby

to not be looked at sexually

or flirtatiously

but cute, like family

baby

this is how you do it

baby

this is what it means

baby

this is where we go

baby

this is when I leave you

baby

this is why

baby

blue and purple are just one shade too far away from each other

they'll never match each other

but baby

your resilence is inspiring.

baby blue

you are many things

but unworthy isn't one of them

empty of comfort neither

and though you may never be purple

may you find peace

in the many things you can mirror

and see too

you are limitless.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Rejjia Camphor

(Ruh-G-Ugh), like it rhymes with Momma Mia!

22, from Baltimore, Maryland

Likes to talk about everything cause why not!

B.A. degree in Creative Writing, Women's Studies & Visual Culture from Hampshire College

Be(ing) Complex.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.