Poets logo

away

the COVID immigration story

By Martyna DearingPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
5
away
Photo by Thomas Kinto on Unsplash

Young

Married

Quarantined.

Away from family

Away from everything.

While inside the bubble

It all seems to be fine

But outside of the bubble...

Wait... is there outside?

My best friend

Across the ocean

My family

Even further.

It’s been years

And I’m not any closer.

I chose love

I chose to stay

It was my choice

I can’t complain.

But I miss them

I miss there.

I miss those places

That I used to call home

Back in a day.

I’m away.

What more can I say?

I’m home

But where is it?

She’s busy...

She won’t even visit.

She can’t,

I know.

The borders are closed

And I’m here alone.

I’m away.

What more can I say?

sad poetry
5

About the Creator

Martyna Dearing

Martyna Dearing joined vocal right after COVID started in April 2020. Since then she got a few Top Stories, republished her book "Green Card Marriage", and is about to release another one titled "Loved, Death, and In Between".

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.