Poets logo

Autumn's Visits

Autumn's love

By Lily CaudillPublished 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
1
Autumn's Visits
Photo by SAJAD FI on Unsplash

He calls me a few days before his arrival.

Sometimes I can’t picture his voice, but as soon as I hear him speak I can pick it out from anywhere.

Even though I know he’s a few days away I sit by the door and wait

When he walks in my heart skips a beat. He takes me into his arms and he smells like the earth and the trees.

His brown eyes are kind and his auburn hair is perfectly combed into place.

His pale face has a youthful appearance, but the way looks into the world you know he must have wisdom he has even yet to share.

As I wrap my arms around him I feel the fibers of his sweater cling to the edges of my fingers

I feel safe in his presence

He could take me to the same place every day and show me something I didn’t notice the day before

I feel childhood nostalgia with him, but he finds ways to make me glad I’m here and now instead of there and then.

He leaves quite suddenly… Just as soon as he is home he is gone again. I spend my days looking at pictures of his past visits as I sit in the arms of Winter.

nature poetry
1

About the Creator

Lily Caudill

I take inspiration from my family roots in The Appalachian Mountains of Kentucky. You will find that my works have a darker undertones with a dash of humor. I am currently working on a novel Conflict of Interest. I hope you enjoy.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.