Poets logo

Atlas

free verse

By Angie SeminaraPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
1
Atlas
Photo by Jeremy Bishop on Unsplash

Holding people back is worse than being worthless, it’s costly.

They pay and pay and pay but why?

Why go into debt for me?

I can’t give you anything but these broken parts.

They aren’t beautifully tragic, they aren’t something that can be turned around.

They are just pathetic and sad and I’m a weight on your ankle.

How does it feel carrying 90 pounds plus the weight of the world?

Carrying the sky has crushed me and I threw that burden onto you too.

Congratulations for getting sucked in!

Was my siren melody too much for you?

I was sure they would have shoved the plugs into your ears.

My reputation precedes me.

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Angie Seminara

reader. writer. artist. advocate. musician. fire enthusiast.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.