Poets logo

Athenian Rhapsody

Zeus Will Return

By Patrick M. OhanaPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Photo by Steve Swayne (CC BY-SA 2.0) via Wikimedia Commons

Is this Athena

Is this the Acropolis

Falling to pieces

No gods to stop its withering

Zeus are you here

Look down to the ground and be

I’m just a writer in love with your daughter

Because I’m M sometimes, Patrick too

Every day, every moon

Any way you see fit, always remember I

Love, love her

...

Athena

I need you now

Put a hand against my heart, swore my love to

All your parts

Athena, life had been unkind

But now I’ve asked your father to return

Athena, nu nu nu nu

Don’t want to cause you strife

If you’re not back again this time tomorrow

I won’t know, I won’t know, as if I can really matter

...

Please come, my love is true

You send feelings to my heart, I need your love

All the time

Athena, you are my love, I have to know

If there is any chance you could love me too

Athena, nu nu nu nu

I need you all the time

I often think I’d agree to be your owl

...

I perceive a very large shadow of a god

O my Zeus, O my Zeus, will you come back tomorrow

...

Raindrops and snowflakes, very, very enlightening me

Aristotle, Aristotle

Epicurus, Epicurus

Pythagoras, Pythagoras — philosophy

...

I’m just a writer, nobody reads me

He’s just a writer, only a few read him

Give him a chance to be read in this world

Here I write, you don’t read, will you read it all

Hades, no! No! We will not read you now

(Read him now!) Here I write! We will not read it all

(Read him now!) Here I write! We will not read it all

(Read him now!) We will not read you

(Read him now!) (Not now!) We won’t read you now

(Read him now!) (Not now!) read you now (Read me now) Ah

No, no, no, no, no, no, no

Oh my Athena, my Athena, my Athena, read me too

Goddess Athena will forsake everyone, for me

For me

...

So you read everyone but me most of the time

So you read everyone and expect me to clap

Oh, reader, can’t do this to me, reader

I just have to get out of here, out of Medium

...

Only Athena matters, everyone can see

Only Athena matters

Only Athena matters to me

Any way she wants me

Please note that you can sing the song with my words. They seem to sound almost as good as the original ones. Thank you for reading and or singing!

surreal poetry

About the Creator

Patrick M. Ohana

A medical writer who reads and writes fiction and some nonfiction, although the latter may appear at times like the former. Most of my pieces (over 2,200) are or will be available on Shakespeare's Shoes.

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

    Patrick M. OhanaWritten by Patrick M. Ohana

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.