Poets logo

At My Fingertips

A World of Color

By Jordan GillettiPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
3

When I close my eyes, I see burnt umber, fuchsia, and maroon

The colors taught to me by the waxy crayons of childhood—wrapped in paper, rounded points.

When I breathe, minty green flows in and out

Inhale, exhale

The cool drops of the atmosphere.

When I look, I am drawn to reds

Fire engine, brick, classic lipstick hues

The spark of a fire sign, ready to ignite.

But at my fingertips

Are a range of colors to make the rainbow envious

Lacquered bursts of gloss and sparkle

Shifting pigments on display

Accented by silver rings on every finger, the accessories of an eccentric

Or a creative

Open to inspiration, ideas, perspective

Trying to understanding the world with all its shades

And nuance

And making more worlds than my own, with more colors than my own

With each tap of a polished fingertip.

performance poetry
3

About the Creator

Jordan Gilletti

I like to pretend that I’m a writer.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.