Poets logo

At Death Do We Part

If You Please

By Gerard DiLeoPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
1
At Death Do We Part
Photo by Luwadlin Bosman on Unsplash

My life is my pageant

Of tableaux, entr'actes, and dioramas

Passing in review, the floats--salient

Points displaying my melodramas.

My death's reach waxes unpleasant

With each year candles' waxed resistance;

My future keeps meeting my present,

Begrudged, my past knotted in irrelevance.

My future, once long and fertile,

Gives short notice, now, futility:

All I planned had rotted less versatile,

Belated, senescent debility.

My things, my victories, my rankings--

The stuff of debris, detritus, and flotsam,

Discarded as hand-me-downs, hanging

Others in ignorance, their games, zero-sum.

The wisdom of impending death

Now grades fully my parade;

Perspective--the happiness of last breath,

Air brakes my life; me? Unafraid.

What passes by me now is it--

Meaning divided by destiny--simpler,

A red carpet of rewarding respite:

We all go out pleased, with just a whimper.

surreal poetry
1

About the Creator

Gerard DiLeo

Retired, not tired. In Life Phase II: Living and writing from a decommissioned Catholic church in Hull, MA. Phase I: was New Orleans (and everything that entails).

https://www.amazon.com/Gerard-DiLeo/e/B00JE6LL2W/

email: [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.