Poets logo

Assumptions Hurt

A Poem

By Rosa SparksPublished 6 years ago 2 min read
Like

Everybody thought I was gonna be fine. I was intelligent, articulate and brilliant. I had a way of shocking and surprising people—making them think etc, etc.

But NONE of those things were Me, or mine. I just saw all of it as things that people praised me for; I assumed it was supposed to make me happy, or take me somewhere in life. And I accepted the transference, but I never had any passion for the things people thought of me. I was more concerned with what was going on in this world I existed in. And why no one saw it the way I did.

Although perspective shifts and all our concepts are traveling through space. Although our truths fall in and out of existence; humans seem uninterested in changing the world. I assume the fear of doing it all alone. Those corrupting things; they will grow vines over you vision, trap your limbs and wrap themselves around your throat.

Oh to whom much is given...

I never had my quality validated. Requirements overwhelm my crown. And I often wonder if I requested this place. Sometimes I feel like I crash landed. And then I feel like, I'm just the force before the fall.

Now I accept that I can not be one without the other. Because I have certainly fallen. Built statues not after my true likeness. Fashioning stone against my purpose. All while desiring to Be the clay.

That crack and chisel, must be a beautiful ache. Somehow. Because I assume that debilitating fear.

What then of my favor? I free Myself out of love, like the sunset that opposes my own moon. How opposition moves impact. Assuming I need tension in my atmosphere, because people often test my theory. And I, impulsive, engage with fury. I don't know if they see me, but them I do see.

I assume toxic tangos/have plenty to do with self-loathing.

Truly, soul ties tangle. Yet so do bloodlines; sharply sending karma in vein.

And I can no longer pour into un-charged waters.

My ability to absorb has been compromised. And I assumed the position of giving up, believing I am too unreal. An asset became a position out of favor. Resentment swells.

Yet, I assume the position of not letting go. Apparently, I do not know how.

Isolation has become a favorable resolution; where I assume Love for the whole of everyone else. And that hurts.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Rosa Sparks

TFW you're the mirror and so you write about the floods of unpopular humanities.

Enchanted Opinions of The Intuition.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.