Poets logo

Asleep Yet Wide Awake

Fear Not Series

By Jai StormPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

My eyes are open yet my mind is asleep,

Trapped in the chains of my thoughts that run so deep,

I would be better off to just let it go,

But I care too much...that of which I’ve given my soul,

Wrongfully placed yet never on a shelf,

But me a different story,

This, a broken home.

I find it hard to sleep at night,

Visions dance within my tired mind,

Of prophets and verses,

“Seek and ye shall find”

But what is it that I’m seeking?

What is it that I’ll find?

As I struggle to obey the simplest commands,

With such great power, it’s hard to contend.

How can you smile at this disappointment that I am?

The desperate struggle to complete the task,

The failure which runs deep in my veins,

The bitter silence that holds me back.

For what is it that I fear?

To which king do I wrongfully bow?

For it is not the King of Kings as it should be,

Instead still the sin I drag within me...

Like twisted knots in the branches of a tall oak tree,

Falling leaves of days past surround me,

The browns and oranges, reds and yellows,

Becomes too much to bear when I feel like the time I borrow...

Clawing at the surface,

Dirt deep beneath my nails,

Fighting a battle not meant for me,

I simply must trust...and believe.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Jai Storm

An avid writer who utilizes real life experiences and places them delicately onto paper for others to live vicariously through.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.