Poets logo

Ask Me One More Time

I promise not to say no

By Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual WarriorPublished 2 years ago Updated 12 months ago 2 min read
Like

Please ask me just one more time,

And this time I promise to not say no

I’m so tired of the running, and I’m so tired of the hiding

That I did not even realize I was doing, and now

I’m ready to come home with you

I’m finally ready to come home to you.

Please ask me just one more time.

Go ahead and drive that old 74 cherry red pickup truck

Up I-95 to New England from Tennessee

Drive straight on through to me

In that truck you love so much

Come get your Yankee Lady

And bring her back home to you.

I will pack up my grandma’s wedding ring quilt

That she gave me when I was 13 years old

And my mother’s Austrian crystal they got when dad was stationed overseas.

I will box up all my scrapbooks, photos and notebooks full of memories and songs

And pack my clothes in some old bins

We can throw my guitars behind the seat

And we will laugh, love, listen and sing to

Kris Kristofferson, and John Prine all the way back home.

And you can pretend you are the outlaw

That you like to pretend you are sometimes

So please ask me just one more time,

And this time I promise to not say no

I’m so tired of the running and I’m so tired of the hiding

That I did not even realize I was doing, and now

I’m ready to come home with you

I’m finally ready to come home to you.

Please ask me just one more time.

It’s time for us to build our home

And build our lives together

We will make lots of love, so much love

And maybe even a couple of babies

We will put golden rings on each other’s left hands

Filled with love and intent and meant forever

Celebrating how much we love each other.

I’ll make you coconut cake for your birthday

We’ll eat pancakes and hot dogs for dinner

We will make so many beautiful memories

And some sad and heartbreaking ones too

And at night, your big strong rugged hands

Made hard through years of honest work

Will be nestled underneath my breasts

Feeling my warmth and heartbeat

As we fall asleep at night

Holding me so gently and with such love

That is all I want in this world.

I just want to come home to you.

So, baby, Please ask me just one more time,

And this time I promise to not say no

I’m so tired of the running and I’m so tired of the hiding

That I did not even realize I was doing, and now

I’m ready to come home with you

I’m finally ready to come home to you.

Please ask me just one more time.

I'm ready to come home.

- Julie O'Hara

If you like this article, please consider tipping (below) or even becoming a patron. My books can be found on my website www.sacredsloth.net or online at Amazon and Barnes and Nobles under the name of Julie O’Hara Thank you very much and blessings on your journey.

Link for booking a reading. https://app.squarespacescheduling.com/schedule.php?owner=25751356

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Julie O'Hara - Author, Poet and Spiritual Warrior

Thank you for reading my work. Feel free to contact me with your thoughts or if you want to chat. [email protected]

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.