Poets logo

As The Rainbow Fades

After The Parade Challenge

By M.L. LewisPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like

As the rainbow fades, and the sun begins to set, know that I’m here.

I’m here when those flags go down,

I am here when the parades end.

My voice still matters,

And my pain is very real.

As the rainbow fades, I’m left to wonder who I am in this world,

And what do I have to do to make it better for others like me?

Why do I have to hide my feelings?

While you can flaunt it in my face?

As the rainbow fades, I have to go back to hiding,

And to be honest, it’s not very fair.

Just because the rainbow is gone,

It doesn’t make me lesser a human than you.

Why are you allowed to be happy, but I can not?

I didn’t ask to love a man being a male myself!

I didn’t ask to love a woman being a female myself!

I didn’t ask to be born in the wrong body,

or struggle with my gender identity!

As the rainbow fades, just remember,

that I am here.

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

M.L. Lewis

Welcome to my little slice of pie. This blog will primarily focus on prepping and homesteading skills with a sprinkle of fiction every now and then.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.