Poets logo

As Soft As

For T.

By Alana S. LeonardPublished 5 months ago Updated 5 months ago 1 min read
4

Your skin is so soft,

there is nothing to compare it to.

That’s why they say “soft as a baby’s bottom”—

Comparing you to yourself is all I can do.

.

I still remember your aggressive kicks,

so at odds with your fragility.

When you were finally placed in my arms,

You were the opposite of tranquility.

.

And then I touched your skin.

There’s nothing so sweet and so pure

As your own tiny, lovely baby.

My husband’s perfect miniature.

.

You were bumpy for a little while,

Until your skin got used to life outside.

The air and sun must have been so harsh,

But you met it all, alert and bright-eyed.

.

You are bigger and plumper and softer now.

Stronger, more curious, and delighted

With everything that surrounds you.

Even our cat’s soft fur gets you so excited.

.

And I will remember these days

Of gentle cuddles and slobbery kisses.

Where we hold you the whole day long,

And when we’re out of sight, you miss us.

.

I know that soon your feet will have callouses,

You’ll get chapped lips and rough cheeks in the winter,

Bumps and cuts and scrapes and scars,

Your fingers will get hangnails and splinters.

.

But nothing will make you less perfect.

I’ll still give you big hugs and kiss your cheeks

Long after you get bigger than me and your cheeks become rough.

You will, forever and always, be my baby.

childrens poetry
4

About the Creator

Alana S. Leonard

A long-time lover of reading and writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Manisha Dhalani5 months ago

    This made me smile so much, Alana. A mother's love.

  • Awww, this was so sweet and adorable! I loved it!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.