Poets logo

As I Drifted Away

Where do our dreams take us

By Corinne Del CidPublished about a year ago 1 min read
3
As I Drifted Away
Photo by Ashkan Forouzani on Unsplash

As I fell asleep I drifted away so deep. I was in a different world unlike any others. It was the setting of Mortal Kombat. This place felt familiar. I was walking in the hallway then I heard something that made me feel uneasy and then I saw them….

Who would've thought something as out of the ordinary as this. Creatures millions of eyeballs staring at me, ready to charge putting my life into quits then everything went dark.

I went into another hallucination again but I was a different person now, I was now a mother both myself and my daughter were driving on the highway, in the blink of an eye we then were sitting on the dock of the bay it was as beautiful as can be, it was strange my little girl became angry she had asked me where her dad was, I could not answer then she started crying hysterically then a storm appeared over the ocean the waves began to crash down so I naturally panicked, when I turned to my daughter she vanished then a scary dark shadow engulfed me paralyzing me from within.

I was now upside down on that same beautiful beach but this time my car was flipped over beside me. I was in tears. I panicked not from the impact or my car. It was just an object I felt numb. I could not feel anything….

performance poetry
3

About the Creator

Corinne Del Cid

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Novel Allenabout a year ago

    Dreams can be so scary. I felt the fear.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.