Poets logo

As a Dane

A Confession from a Little Dane in a Big World

By Cecilie BirkshøjPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like
Copenhagen as seen in the magazines

I was born and raised in the haze

they tend to proclaim

the happiest nation of them all.

Which should be reflected in my smile

and not in the tears

running down my cheeks.

I am nothing

but a child in a world of adults,

but no matter

how many languages I learn,

they never seem to listen

when I speak.

As a Dane,

I'm taught English at the age of seven.

Apparently, that is the only way

we are able to reach heaven.

When the royal words

tasted familiar in my mouth

they turned their attention

to our neighbors to the south.

German or French.

It never really mattered which.

As long as these foreign words

covered my Viking decent.

All I ever wanted was to blend,

but this fair skin and silvery blonde hair

have a habit of behaving like a light house.

A magnet to those

attracted to violence.

When we were younger

we were always told,

that if we wanted to be famous

we had to move,

because nothing

was all we would ever be

at home.

Denmark is the product of ordinary

and at some point,

we stopped looking for more.

We are not delighted,

bright

or happy at all.

We just found hope

in the hopelessness

and somehow managed

to fool the world with our words.

I was born and raised in the haze

they tend to proclaim

the happiest nation of them all.

So tell me why my dreams are broken

and my smile forever frozen?

sad poetrysocial commentary
Like

About the Creator

Cecilie Birkshøj

Blogger, author and dreamer from Denmark

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.