Poets logo

Arsonist

Distracted by Fire

By KJ AartilaPublished 11 months ago Updated 11 months ago 1 min read
3
Arsonist
Photo by jacob avanzato on Unsplash

Dancing around the ring, glistening in the firelight,

I burned you, with my spark.

Seduced by my twirling skirts, you travel

To a place unintended.

***

Reveling in the affirming attention you display,

Arrogant, I kiss the truth at the edge,

Carefully enhancing the bitter blame

To hold you in my grasp;

***

Interpreting the illusion in the heat,

Only successful when you forget the dance,

Narrowing your focus to me - I lick the flame.

sad poetrysurreal poetrynature poetry
3

About the Creator

KJ Aartila

A writer of words in northern WI with a small family and a large menagerie.

My Substack

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Cathy holmes11 months ago

    This is fabulous. Well done.

  • Lamar Wiggins11 months ago

    That was cool and intriguing. Great read, KJ

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.