Poets logo

Arson's muse

A look inside the mind of a firebug

By Andrew C McDonaldPublished 2 years ago 3 min read
Like
Arson's muse
Photo by Adam Wilson on Unsplash

Twiddle the matchstick. Stare at the paper

Try to ignore the candle and taper

Malleable wax so smooth - watch it run

Don’t begrudge a little harmless fun

Mama says lighting fires is bad

Thought Dad was gonna kill me he was so mad

It was only one room, the house was fine

Damned old man, does nothing but whine

I was only eight it wasn’t my fault.

But into my wounds he kept pouring salt.

Oh but the dance of red, orange and yellow

Strobing across the corneas can mesmerize a fellow

How did I get outside? A light breeze is softly blowing

Almost sunset. My but the sky is glowing

Bad hand! Don’t do it! Put down that match!

Just one small fire? This stick will surely catch

No! Yes Mama, I know that it’s wrong

Beautiful swaying flames… To my heart a song

Ha Ha Ha… So pretty. So neat

Hungry Devourer let me kneel at your feet

Ouch! My fingertip. Suckle the tip

Just a little love bite. One tiny nip

The remains of the stick? Just throw it in there

One small wooded lot in the middle of nowhere

What’s the harm? It’s just a few trees

Carnage enamored wind to stir grass and leaves

Whorls of glowing ash and spots of flying fire

Mini hurricanes dancing along electrical wire

Voracious and beautiful look at it grow

It’s wonderful and gorgeous. My God, I know

Red, yellow, and orange desecrate to charcoal and black

Create beauteous horror. Restore parts of soul perhaps I lack

Glowing sparks like dancing fairies wing to the east

Follow their lead on the heels of the beast

Where did it come from this gas can in my hand?

What’s that you whisper? A little help to consecrate this land?

Nobody nearby. Look twice, look quick

Hmm… but there’s a house in the middle of the thick

Probably nobody home and why should I care?

Like my old man they’d probably gape and stare

Eternity isn’t fair. My life stinks so why shouldn’t his

Peek in the window. Ah, a Jeopardy whiz.

Probably thinks he’s smarter and cooler

One small fire will prove how he fooled her

Lick at the soffit. Slither up the wall

Lovingly kiss family portrait hung in the hall

Warmth does caress the house. Blister the paint. Destroyer of life

Insurance? Maybe. Aaaaah, the glory and the strife

Look at him scramble! Yell, scream and bolt

Running like a hare darting for it’s holt

I’m like an ancient deity. What power! What glory!

Long after I’m gone they’ll whisper my story

Sirens getting close its time to book home

Tomorrow we’ll see if some more I roam

Screeching tires and yelling cops

What does he mean “Damn it you! STOP!”

Somebody saw me. But I did nothing wrong

You don’t understand the power of the song

Run and pelt. Hide, hide hide!

Tunnel in the dirt, lay on my side!

Damn! Dogs gonna find me what do I do?

Too late. Handcuffs are tight. You bet I’ll sue.

Shoved in the back of the squad car. Ride to the station

Can’t I do what I want? It’s a free nation.

Maybe a lawyer can plead insanity. But.. I’M SANE!

At least I had the sense to pray for some rain.

By the way - Officer, do you have a match? I really need a smoke.

***********************

Andrew C. McDonald 

pbpatch.wixsite.com/pbpatch

social commentarysurreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Andrew C McDonald

Andrew McDonald is a 911 dispatcher of 30 yrs with a B.S. in Math (1985). He served as an Army officer 1985 to 1992, honorably exiting a captain.

https://www.amazon.com/Killing-Keys-Andrew-C-McDonald-ebook/dp/B07VM843XL?ref_=ast_author_dp

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.