Poets logo

Armor On

A Poem About Being Hurt by Love

By James BrownbackPublished 6 years ago 1 min read
Like

I've given my heart away to too many men.

I'm not ready to throw another piece of me into your lion's den.

Lie, after little white lie, I could count each time on both hands.

All these tears I've been left to cry,

you'll rarely see me with a dry eye.

You still hurt, every single time you're on my mind.

I wish I could fast forward through this endless rewind.

Wounds heal, they take time, yes they do.

I am a warrior.

I'm unstoppable too.

You cracked my armor and tried to break through.

In me, you saw a heart glowing and laced within the strongest of steel.

I don't think you could ever understand the way you make me feel.

Watch me wave goodbye to you.

Damn, that statement is long overdue.

heartbreak
Like

About the Creator

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.