Poets logo

Argumentative

a poem.

By Alyssa "Lefty" P.Published 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
where i'd rather be.

They telling me I’m argumentative

Expecting me to keep my mouth shut

Like I took a f*ckin sedative

But ima cuss

And never hush

Because everything that I say

Is absolutely relevant.

Im telling it.

Telling you

My story of how I got this far

But they tellin' me I have nothing to show for it

& all I got is my bars

Like I didn’t heal my own heart without meds & professional therapy

Like I didn’t come out strong winning my toughest battles & have these beautiful, deep scars

Most of them are invisible.

To them, I’m really invisible.

They see me,

But to help me out is not critical

So I gotta go get it on my own,

Staying ten toes on the ground like my 2 feet aren’t divisible

I’m running

Chasing the finish line but I’m not sprinting

For once, I’m catching my breath & my mindset is shifting

I want clarity, stability, that shit us uplifting

I can’t sleep anymore, even when my soul starts drifting

I want to be as strong as my father

Who raised me to be fearless

He used to look at me proud that I was his daughter

& I know I don’t crave that in another man any longer

I want to just hold my family down

& one day have my own

So my daughter can feel grateful for who taught her...

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Alyssa "Lefty" P.

28 year-old NuYoRican from Spanish Harlem who has a passion for writing, learning, achieving peace, faith, and empowering others. I've established a career as an educator and career counselor for over five years. Instagram: @alyssaleftyp

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.