Poets logo

Are You Serious? Get Out!

Brought To You By NyQuil

By Kelli Sheckler-AmsdenPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
Top Story - September 2022
67
Are You Serious? Get Out!
Photo by Kinga Cichewicz on Unsplash

Mr sandman, this isn’t my dream,

looks are not what’s important to me.

Rose clover lips - don’t make me feel rested.

I’ll sleep with the fan and deal with mild congestion.

*

Sandman, leave me alone,

I’m doing just fine down here, on my own.

Please turn down that blasted beam.

Mr sandman, I need some zzzzzz’s.

*

Sandman, you know what I need?

A good nights rest, so I can quit the visine.

I’ve had enough of your -romance and glitter -

I want to sleep all night and not use the shi****

*

Sandman, I’m sorry, I’m sure you mean well.

But, take all your promise’s and go straight to……

well,

Ok, maybe one thing…

I want a kingsized comfy bed spring.

*

Sandman, get out of my room,

pawning your friends, at this hour is rude.

The only thing I need is your disappearing -

Unless you’ve got something for deep REM-ing

*

Sandman, let’s make a deal,

If you go away, I’ll agree to meet Neal.

Dude, for now I want to sleep.

Mr sandman- bring me,

Please, please bring me,

Mr sandman bring me - some zzzzzz’s.

slam poetry
67

About the Creator

Kelli Sheckler-Amsden

Telling stories my heart needs to tell <3 life is a journey, not a competition

If you like what you read, feel free to leave a tip, I would love some feedback

Find me on twitter @kelli7958958

or facebook

Reader insights

Nice work

Very well written. Keep up the good work!

Top insights

  1. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Excellent storytelling

    Original narrative & well developed characters

  1. Eye opening

    Niche topic & fresh perspectives

  2. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

  3. Expert insights and opinions

    Arguments were carefully researched and presented

  4. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  5. Masterful proofreading

    Zero grammar & spelling mistakes

Add your insights

Comments (19)

Sign in to comment
  • Colt Henderson2 years ago

    I enjoyed the humor in this. Mr. Sandman never brings sleep for me either.

  • J. S. Wade2 years ago

    Awesome. Congrats Top Story. WooHoo. 💕

  • I loved the rhythm and feel of this

  • Heather Hubler2 years ago

    Like others, I was humming along to this all while nodding my head in complete agreement! Great work :) Hope you got some zzzz's.

  • Caroline Jane2 years ago

    😆😆😆 fantastic!

  • Excellent work! Keep up the glorious work that you do! Thank you you are full of insight and great story structure and plot. I am proud of you. vocal.media/authors/angelina-f-thomas-efubye0i1y please check me out online at vocal.media use my author tag/link and read my work. I wish my peers online at vocal.media would send me pledges and tips so I can return the favor! idk if it will ever happen. BOL to us and the universe!! Good day.

  • Lightning Bolt2 years ago

    ❤️❤️❤️

  • Definitely can relate, love this…

  • Deidre Melson2 years ago

    How did you know how to describe my nights! Hahahaha!

  • Morgana Miller2 years ago

    Haha this is great. I love the voice and the genius disappearing/REMing slant rhyme

  • Congratulations on your Top Story! Loved the rhyme and humour in your poem. Made me chuckle. You did a fantastic job!

  • Kat Thorne2 years ago

    Oh god, I really feel this one this week. I've been doing a terrible job of respecting my need for sleep. Congrats on the top story!

  • Kendall Defoe 2 years ago

    Interesting take on a classic... Now try 'Sh-Boom, Sh-Boom'! ;)

  • Pam Reeder2 years ago

    This was fantastic! I literally sang it in my head as I read it. LOL Job well done!

  • Brenton F2 years ago

    That was a pleasure to read and now I have The Chordettes in my earbuzz!

  • Babs Iverson2 years ago

    Superb!!! Loving your creative Sandman poem!!!👏💖😊💕

  • Very clever... I love "Mr. Sandman" what a great song... Especially by Trio - Dolly, Linda, and Emmylou.

  • You got a chuckle out of me. Your rhythm scheme was well orchestrated!

  • Cathy holmes2 years ago

    Lol. This is great.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.