Poets logo

Are You Looking at Me?

A Mindful Feline

By Patrick M. OhanaPublished about a month ago 1 min read
4
Photo by Jose Antonio Gallego Vázquez on Unsplash

You leave me alone all the time

I don’t even know where you go

The food is stale, the water is old

The sofa is my only refuge

I could be roaming the streets

I could be hunting on the savanna

I’m here instead, alone

I’m a lucky cat

I have eight, no, seven more lives

I wish I only had one

-----

It could have been a haiku, a tanka, or a series of them, but this cat considered them to be too confining, as it wanted both freedom and company, which can contradict each other in many instances.

social commentary
4

About the Creator

Patrick M. Ohana

A medical writer who reads and writes fiction and some nonfiction, although the latter may appear at times like the former. Most of my pieces (over 2,200) are or will be available on Shakespeare's Shoes.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (2)

Sign in to comment
  • Christy Munsonabout a month ago

    Cool cat 🤘 rock on

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.