Poets logo

Aquamarine

A poem about the color of my aura.

By Gina C.Published 2 years ago Updated about a year ago 2 min read
12

Calm and tranquil as

the cool, blue water;

underneath the riptides where

the whales and otters hide,

lies the color of

the ocean's only daughter...

and the aura of

this wildly troubled soul

(you see)

of mine,

of mine,

of mine.

*

Shipwrecks harbor where

she carries

sunlit waves into the coves...

of worlds reflecting all that glitters

gold and copper,

though like the water

(for she's)

{{water}}

she shall always

[[stifle fire]] with

her fatal undertow.

*

"Aqua" is her blue-green color,

"Marine" means she's from the sea,

but for ME, you see,

she has become a jealous lover -

I crave fire and

she smothers all

the lovely light

from me,

from me,

from me.

*

They say that Envy is

a green-eyed monster;

they say that Sadness is

(somehow)

the color blue;

at the heart of me

I've always known that I

(am somehow)

Ruby wonder...

though my inner beauty underneath it all

[[is masked by all]]

the ocean’s rivaling hues.

*

"Aqua- ma- reen" sings the siren...

and as she strangles me, she

tangles me in her riptides;

(and as I)

stare into the heavens searching for

the sunlight...

My, oh my, do I

feel her watching me;

(she is an)

eerie, painful part of me...

undercover and unknowingly

disguised.

*

I know, (for some),

her rhythmic waves do whisper

{lullabies that}

rock their restless minds to sleep;

but [[just below the surface]], her

obscure intentions blister

swollen pride

(that has her take)

my helpless soul to keep.

*

And oh, she is enchanting...

she is a ghost

she is a phantom, singing

hypnotizing songs that haunt my dreams;

she is a light thief,

[[she's a villain]],

she is anything, you see

but tranquil,

calm,

serene.

*

Yes, and "Aqua- ma- reen" sings the siren...

as she drowns me with

tsunami-crowning waves,

she is a tyrant; she's Poseidon

a zealous queen, a rabid lion, and

my fire can't be saved;

I think I'm in there somewhere...

suffocated by her blue glare,

[sinking to]

the deepest, watery grave.

- Gina C. 🧜‍♀️✨

***

I felt like writing something dark today.

Author's Note: I write a lot about having a conflicted spirit of both blue and red - of equal parts fire and water. If you follow me, you'll see this theme pop up a lot. While I am the most at home in blue, I've always strived and dreamed of being more permanently red. The fire exists within me, and it does shine through at times. Once I am blue, I always strive to be Red again. 💃🏽✨

Welcome to my ✨Blue and Red Series✨. If you enjoyed this poem, you might also like its opposite:

Thank you so much for reading! ☺️ I'm working really hard to grow my community on Vocal, so if you enjoyed this poem, I'd be over the moon if we could be friends and support each other here!

I reciprocate all comments, hearts, and subscriptions. :) ❤️

surreal poetry
12

About the Creator

Gina C.

Achievements:

  • Twice-published in Vocal's Moment of Freedom Collection:

My Soul of Red

Free Verse

Free-Form poet of ethereal style🧚‍♀️✨

Fantasy writer

A sucker for a good rhyme☺️

Fueled by a conflicted soul of fire & water

TT: poetry.in_pajamas

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

  1. On-point and relevant

    Writing reflected the title & theme

Add your insights

Comments (8)

Sign in to comment
  • Talia Devoraabout a year ago

    Well done! Thanks for sharing your poem with us. Please read one of my poems in return! https://vocal.media/poets/swimming-pool

  • C. H. Richardabout a year ago

    The imagery is stunning and your poem is so eloquent. I feel intensity of this blue 💙 soul.

  • This comment has been deleted

  • Dawn Saloisabout a year ago

    I love this! It’s very insightful and complex. The imagery is also fantastic.

  • Heather Hublerabout a year ago

    Gorgeous!! This felt like an intricate dance with your words as the music. You have a beautiful gift :)

  • I love the form of this and is a wonderful experience to drift through, I have subscribed as well

  • Babs Iversonabout a year ago

    Brilliant & beautiful!!! Left some love.💕😊💖💕

  • sleepy draftsabout a year ago

    This is so stunning! Just, wow. Beautiful. Thank you for sharing this piece. There is so much to savour in this poem and your imagery is captivating. ❤️💙

  • This comment has been deleted

  • I guess my thoughts are stolen. This is, (to me anyway), not just a siren song, but a real song, with the power of soulful telling, and rhythm. Beautifully done. And everything Thavien said below was awesome, too!

  • This comment has been deleted

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.