Poets logo

Apparition of Perfection

A Forest Vision

By Paul DouglasPublished 2 years ago Updated 2 years ago 1 min read
14
Apparition of Perfection
Photo by photo nic on Unsplash

The beautiful sunlight

Through trees dappled

Bathed the river

In an ethereal glow

A magical oasis

Surrounded by dark forest

And in its thrall

I happily lie.

***

Eighteen summers cocooned in loneliness

No other here to accompany me

I thought happiness

Was in nature’s wonder

And then one day

She appeared to me.

***

As I lay watching

The cold clear waters

Flow by to surroundings new

On its mercurial surface

A girls reflection

Slowly, mysteriously, came into view.

***

The trees seemed to part

Of their own volition

As though shying away

from her eternal visage

I couldn’t speak

I could but wonder.

***

At this goddess in earthly form.

***

She whispered a spell and I awoke

To the most beautiful sunset, I ever did see

As though transported into a magical realm

Non-other here with me.

***

But loneliness I felt no more.

***

Her otherworldly beauty

An apparition of perfection

She was a joy to me

I shall wait the rest of this life

Until at her side, I may forever be.

surreal poetry
14

About the Creator

Paul Douglas

I have always loved to write, especially poems and short stories. I also have an abiding love for technology and gaming. I love to share my outlook with others.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.