Poets logo

Apocalyptic Endings

Conjugations to the Congregation

By Jeffrey SparksPublished 2 years ago 1 min read
1
Apocalyptic Endings
Photo by Stephen Leonardi on Unsplash

Ideas of persuasion

What if scenarios of

Alien invasions

I watch brains get faded

Gripped by fear of being invaded

Hope turns dry

Thoughts become raisins

Goals of escape, knowing all too well

They’re not escaping

So, I continue to stumble forward

Falling on verbs

I watch the whole congregation

Hang on my words

Conjugated to perfection

The fire does burn

Inside their minds

However, they work

I can change rhetoric

Oh, when will they learn?

I could speak blizzards

To those always in search

Existing in present

But barely on earth

I give lessons on life

Coupled with obviously ridiculous terms

They will come seeking my sermons

Because they live in my church

slam poetry
1

About the Creator

Jeffrey Sparks

Adversity is kindling I choose to burn to keep my hands warm in winter ensuring my words will stretch beyond the years that turn my bones to dust.

Any and all, subscribers, pledges and comments are welcome.

Thanks for reading!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.