Poets logo

Anxiety

By Hannah

By Hannah DennisPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
Anxiety
Photo by Meghan Hessler on Unsplash

I feel him looming over me.

He sends the warm temperature in the room plummeting as he moves closer to me.

His breath sends goosebumps up my spine as he leers closer.

He's in me and everywhere around me all at once.

His thoughts touch mine.

Why did you do that? That was so embarrassing.

Why did you act like that? You're not a child

Why did you invite yourself out with them?

Why did you say that? You always put your foot in your mouth.

Everyone leaves because they can't stand you.

You deserve to be alone.

You fail at everything.

You'll never achieve anything.

The room grows colder and darker.

Branches whip my hair back and forth.

My breath fogs up as I exhale.

My hands tremble as I try to not listen.

The blood rushes to my ears.

His thoughts get louder and louder until their screaming.

They replace my own.

As I shake, overcome by him, I cover my eyes.

He screams at me until I am no longer myself.

Just as I am about to give up the fight, a tiny glimpse of white appears through the cracks between my fingers.

I uncover my eyes and see small beams of light poke through the darkness.

His eyes fill with fear as more and more beams escape through.

With each beam that pokes through, more power surges through me.

Soon there is more lightness than darkness.

I stand on my feet and look him in the eye.

I whisper, "No more."

His lip curls and his eyes widen as he disappears into the remaining shadows.

I've won this battle.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Hannah Dennis

Hello:) My name is Hannah. I'm 25 and currently live in the states. I'm a cat mom of 5 cats and currently spend my free time cooking, traveling, reading, knitting and of course writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.