Poets logo

Anxiety Becomes Me

Krysta Mangubat

By Krysta MangubatPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

Anxiety becomes me.

I cannot see

What’s in front of me.

I cannot breathe.

Anxiety badgers me.

“Get a job!” “Go to school!”

“Don’t be a dramatic fool.”

“Look within yourself,

And finally get some help.”

Anxiety disconnects me.

Don’t know what I want to be.

“You’ll fail either way.”

“Come with me and here you’ll stay.”

Anxiety taunts me.

I cry, wanting to die.

How I wish I would, sometimes.

“You’ll never be happy.”

“Nobody wants you.”

“Fight me and I’ll bite, too.”

Anxiety controls me.

“Don’t speak unless spoken to.

Don’t laugh, don’t smile.

Hide away, you useless bile.”

Anxiety becomes me.

A hopeful light,

Inspiration strikes.

“Be an artiste and paint the world.”

“Be a writer and your soul will soar.”

“Free yourself from these chains.”

I kill anxiety...

Until tomorrow begins.

social commentary
Like

About the Creator

Krysta Mangubat

All I want to do in this world is write. Even if my vocabulary, sentence structure, and other mechanisms are faulty. It’s my escape and my lifeline. I love it, plain and simple.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.