Poets logo

#AnotherHashtag

Poetry

By Latoia DunnPublished 7 years ago 1 min read
Like
Gifted

I wonder if when you label me another victim whose hashtag attached to my name was symbolic to being ignored or compared me to that random woman who had a random name if you for once will ever have enough sense to search deeper than those bold printed words to see a woman who has faced oppression and severe pain

Or maybe you don't care for that woman because I represent the others who silently cry too just so you can give those empty unsympatheic stares because you lack empathy when you should express great sympathy

Yes isn't it odd how when several others like I have continue to cry you show no remorse and just ask why as if I deserve to be dehumanized or treated the same as if I am that woman who isn't suppose to have a voice or show my actual pain

As if I am not suppose to speak up but to instead shut up obey and just confrom or comply just so you can view me as another hashtag whose fate is to eventually suddenly die

Yes it is I who make up those majority that you continue to degrade look down upon or berate yet I am forced to remain robust when you continue to use your energy to instill your hate

Yet it is I who use the same gifts I have been blessed with to raise awareness so that I can feed hope to that young girl or woman who has had suffered from the same exact experiences but just has a different face circumstance or name as you continue to be apart of the problem and say I am the one to blame

But I refuse to be that next victim I refuse to be the next potential target

I refuse to let my voice remain silent as you continue to ignore those millions of others who have my same exact cry experience and pain cause when you looked at me when you seen me you overlooked me and didn't care to realize I mattered as well

I refuse to be what you think of me because amongst those thousands of others was a woman who has experienced the most hardships misfortunes and greatest pain

Yeah I refuse to be just another hashtag because I'm not just another name....

slam poetry
Like

About the Creator

Latoia Dunn

Just someone who hopes to inspire others with my words and gifts one day.

Author

Writer

Screenwriter

Self Publisher

Books I've published: Fame Or Love, Love Over Fame and Poetic Voice on Wattpad. All rights reserved ©2018

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.