Poets logo

Another Word for Home

Home is Not Just a Place

By Lizz ChambersPublished 3 years ago 2 min read
Like
Another Word for Home
Photo by Liane Metzler on Unsplash

My home is not the place I lay my head

My home is a person, an amazing person

Not brick and mortar but flesh and bone instead

He loves me despite my mistakes and there are plenty

There is never judgment only love, unconditional love

Through all the storms in my life and there are many

His gentle nature and loving heart calm my fears

No words spoken but he speaks just the same

His heart to my heart and a touch to wipe my tears

Always there, he is my world, he is my foundation, he is my home

He asks for nothing in return and is never one to boast

He is a man of few words, no extravagant gestures

He saves his heart, his dreams for the ones he loves the most

His wants and needs have been very few

He has never looked for praise although well deserved

His own dreams seldom expressed go unspoken too.

Through times of joy and times of strife

He is there to celebrate and at times console

He is a true friend, a sturdy hand, he gave me life

Always there, he is my world, he is my foundation, he is my home

Home is more than a structure on some random street

Home is a place where your heart resides

It is a reason you are who you are and why your heart beats

Home is my Father, My Friend, he is more than the reason I exist

He is strength, kindness, love, compassion and caring

And so many more words could be added to this list

Like Christian, Counselor, Teacher, and Friend

My life has taken me far away from him

It is a decision I made and at times find hard to defend

And still

Always there, he is my world, he is my foundation, he is my home

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Lizz Chambers

I am a corporate trainer getting ready to move into retirement. I love writing business articles but feel my creativity has suffered because of it. I want to get it back and learn some techniques in the process.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.