Poets logo

Another Love Lost

One day it’ll all make sense...

By Caitlin ParsonsPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
1

I love you.

There are really no words to accurately describe this kind of pain. Save your sorry because your apology could write my eulogy. You... destroyed me.

When you said that you went on three separate dates and slept with one of them... I screamed. The last time I felt that broken as a person, was when I watched my best friend’s heart stop beating on the monitor... then I screamed.

It’s the sound that can only be described as loving someone until you burst.

Lately, this reality resembles my insanity. I cling to you for clarity, but your inability to effectively communicate leaves everything up in the air.

It’s not fair.

I love you unconditionally, and I’m afraid that I always will. I say afraid because I continue to give you a love that you don’t deserve.

I made strides to become a better person for me, for you, and for us. But all you gave me back was how it’s you that I can’t trust.

To lay in my bed and hold my body like it meant something to you. My love for you was true.

The pit in my stomach could swallow the room. I feel sick just thinking that you could even fathom a new lover. You didn’t want time and space away from me to think, you just wanted to fuck her.

Your closet holds the wedding dress that I bought because I tried it on, and could see you standing next to me. I guess I can tell you that now because that’s a day we’ll never see.

I hope she was worth it.

heartbreak
1

About the Creator

Caitlin Parsons

26 years old. STL.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.