Poets logo

Another Figure on the Board

Picture Inspired Poem

By Haley M.T.Published 3 months ago 1 min read
3
Another Figure on the Board
Photo by Lucas Santos on Unsplash

Somedays I just feel like

another figure on the board:

controlled by unknown forces above,

and the roll of the dice.

Unmoving

Unfeeling

Unalive

Until thoughts start to stir in my mind,

with the words of my puppeteer,

and I can finally feel.

But these feelings are not my own.

Artificial

Fleeting

And as soon as they arrived,

they disappear.

And then I am just another figure on the board.

An empty husk

too openly aware of their surroundings,

too aware of how little they can change.

Simply a statue of a person that

only exists in the minds of their creators.

So here I stand, until the next roll of the dice.

Just another figure on the board.

For FunFree Verse
3

About the Creator

Haley M.T.

I'm just a simple day-to-day writer just trying to get by in life. No grand past or achievements, simply a Jill-of-Some-Trades enjoying a hobby.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (4)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming28 days ago

    I don't even feel like I'm a piece sometimes, like I have a role. D and D takes you on these thoughtful journeys, I think. I hope my life is not being controlled by someone rolling dice.

  • Gabriel Huizenga3 months ago

    Striking poem- I relate to this too. Thanks for sharing!

  • Some days are definitely like that. This was very relatable. Loved your poem!

  • Alex H Mittelman 3 months ago

    Love it! Pictures that inspire are great! Great work!

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.