Poets logo

Another Chance

Poetry

By Teresa RentonPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
4
Another Chance
Photo by Jasmin Schreiber on Unsplash

A hungry smoke engulfs

Fills lungs

Stings eyes

But fear is the tar

That clogs the paths to breath.

*

I survived

And just before my world turned

Temporarily from black

To hospital white

That very moment

I understood home

But it was so far away.

*

I will remember

The flames

The terror

The death

Some frantic, others silent, frozen

Like monuments

The no chance to say

Sorry

Thank you

Goodbye.

*

And I will never forget

that I discovered home

when I saw statues die.

sad poetry
4

About the Creator

Teresa Renton

Inhaling life, exhaling stories, poetry, prose, flash or fusions. An imperfect perfectionist who writes and recycles words. I write because I love how it feels to make ink patterns & form words, like pictures, on a page.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.