Poets logo

Anniversary

For Real Poetic's Anniversary Acrostic

By Hannah MoorePublished 4 days ago 1 min read
Anniversary
Photo by Yoal Desurmont on Unsplash

“Arguable” she said, when I implied he must have known.

“No one asked you anyway” she said, and abashed, I looked away.

“Now you’re doing it again” she said, and I imagined that I must be.

“It’s not about you” she said, and I wondered, if so, how I was always in the wrong.

Vulnerability makes her defensive, I told myself, wounded by the wounded party,

Explaining it away, that every time I spring to her defence, I fall upon my sword,

Remembering that it was I who stood up to take her part,

She made no plea for aide. Save the crying.

“Are you just going to stand there” she said, as bleeding, I searched for the balm in my blood.

“Really? That’s all you’ve got?” she said, and emptied out, I pried my rib cage open.

“You don’t care about me” she said, and though it didn’t feel that way, I took her at her word.

For Real Poetic's anniversary acrostic challenge:

Acrostic

About the Creator

Hannah Moore

Enjoyed the story?
Support the Creator.

Subscribe for free to receive all their stories in your feed. You could also pledge your support or give them a one-off tip, letting them know you appreciate their work.

Subscribe For FreePledge Your Support

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (12)

  • Kelli Sheckler-Amsdena day ago

    ooof, the relationship traumas that take their time creating who we are. Great poem

  • Great artistic! The lines the flow were epic..emptied out, I pried my ribcage open- fanfuckingtastic. Not sure I was quite smart enough to understand what was going on between these two

  • This was so sad and it hit me so hard. Loved your take on this challenge!

  • Caroline Craven4 days ago

    I had to go back and check this was an acrostic. You’re so damn talented. This was stellar.

  • Natasha Collazo4 days ago

    Ooof. Now that’s a heavy acrostic. 👏

  • John Cox4 days ago

    Simply incredible! You speak the painful truth in every syllable! I too, lost the bubble on the acrostic. That minor detail ceased to matter.

  • D.K. Shepard4 days ago

    Ouch! This packed quite a punch! Like Paul, I completely forgot this was an acrostic by the end I was so caught up in the emotional wave

  • Real Poetic4 days ago

    “every time I spring to her defense, I fall upon my sword”

  • Paul Stewart4 days ago

    So well written...didn't feel like an acrostic...but felt very sad and full of pain!

  • Sad and relatable.. in many ways lack of communication is the root of all these "misunderstandings" in love and relationships in general.

  • Rachel Deeming4 days ago

    Ruined. A relationship torn apart. This made me feel sad at the realness of it.

  • shanmuga priya4 days ago

    The lines...You don’t care about me” she said, and though it didn’t feel that way, I took her at her word.....I liked the most...a selfless devotion in the face of hurt.....I loved your poem..😊

Hannah MooreWritten by Hannah Moore

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.