Poets logo

Anger

Spewing venom.

By Corene TorresPublished 4 years ago 1 min read
Like

I admire anyone who doesn’t hold a grudge

When I’m angry I just can’t budge

I admire anyone who forgive

Being bitter is no way to live

I admire anyone who leaves vengeance abroad

They go on and act as if they forgot

I admire anyone who can love in pain

Please tell me where they trained

I admire anyone who gets a good night’s sleep

I stay up watching myself slaughter sheep

Sometimes this pain is too much to bear

The smallest trigger and my temper flares

I don’t sleep and I am not at peace

I’m holding on tight, I just can’t release

When will the desire for vengeance leave me?

When will I finally be free?

These thoughts run marathons in my mind

I am doing circles, stupid and blind

My heart feels and my tongue follows

This reality has been hard to swallow

I do things and I know that I shouldn’t

Doing the very things, I said I wouldn’t

Running a list with growing names

For everything that goes wrong, that list is to blame

It is clear a decision must be made

Harboring rage won’t get me paid

Eating my anger won’t shed the weight

Looking for ways to replay the tape

There is no future in yesterday

Alcohol has proven a hapless mistake

So here goes nothing, I am letting go

Life goes on, on with the show

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Corene Torres

Specialize in sales training and coaching for management and agents. Poet, published a book (Where I Stood), podcaster & doing spoken word on YouTube (Tornado Torres). Dealer in NASA based green technology (Krypto Marketing on Facebook).

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.