Poets logo

Angels Torn Of Their Wings

The beast of burdens

By Colleen Millsteed Published 2 years ago 1 min read
13
Angels Torn Of Their Wings
Photo by British Library on Unsplash

She wandered through the night in her dreams

Collecting unkept Souls, gathering them to her,

Understanding their need for destruction, pain

Giving them all they need, rather than just deter.

***

She became the keeper of unspoken dreams

As she wandered through on a nightly basis,

Followers of the night creeping in her shadow

Finding forgiveness as they bath in her oasis.

***

I would watch her shower them with her love

As they cruelly carved their darkest desires,

Into the very stitches of her indestructible Soul

Recording the existence of the underworlds fires.

***

She smiles as she runs her fingers over the scars

Knowing they strengthen her, not at all weaken,

She can handle so much more before breaking

The beast withdrawing at the lightened beacon.

***

She understood the pain she carried forward

Each tangled in amongst the burning scars,

She now knew the distress of the wounded

Angels torn of their wings, falling from stars.

***

I wept at her torment, her tears and her pain

Although we both knew she’d beat that beast,

She’d not return unscathed, her scars intact

Her wounded heart and love never released.

******************************************

If you liked my writing, please click on the small heart underneath, near my name. Or send me a tip and let me know you enjoyed it.

****

Please click the link below my name to read more of my work. I would also like to thank you for taking the time to read this today and for all your support.

If you enjoy this piece, you may enjoy this one too.

Originally posted on Medium

surreal poetry
13

About the Creator

Colleen Millsteed

My first love is poetry — it’s like a desperate need to write, to free up space in my mind, to escape the constant noise in my head. Most of the time the poems write themselves — I’m just the conduit holding the metaphorical pen.

Reader insights

Outstanding

Excellent work. Looking forward to reading more!

Top insights

  1. Compelling and original writing

    Creative use of language & vocab

  2. Easy to read and follow

    Well-structured & engaging content

  3. Heartfelt and relatable

    The story invoked strong personal emotions

Add your insights

Comments (1)

Sign in to comment
  • Mike Singleton - Mikeydred2 years ago

    I loved this

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.