Poets logo

Anesthesia

My body remembers…

By Rayn BPublished about a year ago Updated about a year ago 1 min read
4

You don’t remember the surgery.

The sensation of the incision,

Instruments adjusting organs,

Cauterizing, extracting...

//

The needle they insert

And the burn of anesthesia

Are the last memories of discomfort

Before waking up

To the stitches, the aftercare

The healing.

//

You didn’t witness

What caused the pain,

But you know it happened.

There’s a logical reason

Why you are hurting

And instructions on how

To have the best recovery.

//

But imagine your body

Acting like it’s been through

Something...

Traumatic.

//

But there’s no memory to blame.

No recollection of why:

Images

Words

The smell of alcohol on breath and in sweat

A hug that lasts too long

A promise that “…you can trust me…”

//

Piercing

Like a nail gun through skin

And I must be careful

Not to wince

And give myself away.

//

And one day,

Someone you find

To confide in

And share your symptoms

Proposes a cause

To all these effects...

//

“Perhaps you had

Invasive surgery...

Long ago,

At a time you possessed

The mind of a child

With no ability to comprehend,

Stop from happening,

Object to...

That no one told you about?”

//

And then,

It all starts to make sense.

social commentarysurreal poetrysad poetryheartbreak
4

About the Creator

Rayn B

I have been writing poetry and lyrics since I was a child. I have recently started writing short scripts for “found footage” horror TikToks. I dream of writing books and full length screenplays. Thanks for being in this community with me!

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments (5)

Sign in to comment
  • Rachel Deeming3 months ago

    I found this quite harrowing. I'm reading a book called The Paper Palace at the moment which has similar themes. This was hard-hitting.

  • Pōlani Monderen 4 months ago

    I found your poem a long time ago, and it's been saved. Tonight, through it, I found the rest of your collection, and every poem resonates. Thank you for sharing this. Oh, how intricately woven it all existence is and how our body keeps the score - knowingly and yet not always knowingly.

  • Lamar Wigginsabout a year ago

    Wow! This was thought provoking and left me wondering about myself. Great visual and flow to this. Top story in my book!

  • Allie Bickertonabout a year ago

    Wow! 🥺

  • Cathy holmesabout a year ago

    Oh my God. This is heartwrenching. You are an incredible writer. Thank you for sharing.

Find us on social media

Miscellaneous links

  • Explore
  • Contact
  • Privacy Policy
  • Terms of Use
  • Support

© 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.