Poets logo

And Yet

To Each His Own

By Gregory Dolan DiesPublished 3 years ago 1 min read
Like
One of my favorite colors, grandson blue!

And Yet

My life is a kaleidoscope of colors,

I’ve visited them all, in every corner,

The deep blue of depression,

The dark red of violence,

And yet, this is no rainbow.

I’ve lived with light green of jealousy,

I’ve felt the warmth of yellow,

The ever-burning fires of Orange,

The melting mellow eyes of brown,

And yet, this is no rainbow.

I’ve chased the quickness of silver,

Fell for the allude of gold,

Imagined luscious pinks and purples,

And dove the depth of forest green,

And yet, this is no rainbow.

Life is colorful,

Your heart alerts you,

Your eyes focus on stars,

You own your own universe,

And yet, this is no rainbow.

We praise the sparkle,

Ignore the bland,

Like an old school mood ring,

We’ve seen the whole plan,

And yet, this is no rainbow.

I’ve held glowing grandchildren,

The blues and the pinks,

Watched my kids play,

In bright dresses and jeans,

Now that, that is my rainbow.

surreal poetry
Like

About the Creator

Gregory Dolan Dies

I’ve been around the block a time or two but due to a bad left hip I never get far, I just keep walking in circles. I’m an old rusty merry-go-round that will leave you cut and in stitches.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.