Poets logo

And That Was That

A Poem

By Melina GiorgalletouPublished 5 years ago 1 min read
Like

On our first Super Bowl together

you gave me a slow-cooker

because I told you I wanted one since I was young

but my parents always told me that

that was a grown-up present.

So when I turned 21

you gave me a slow-cooker

and that was that.

On our first birthdays together

I gave you news like no other

and you flushed a big smile

at the idea of having kids together.

You gave me a kiss as always

a rub on the tummy

and that was that.

Our first Christmas together

You gave me the ring I always wanted

and we laughed all night watching

Friends

and cried while talking to my fat tummy.

I gave you a kiss on the forehead

while you slept in our first house together

and that was that.

Our second Super Bowl season together

you gave me the husband I always wanted

and we stayed at home eating wedding cake

with my red-stained dress

I gave your nose some cake

and we awaited the day our trio

would come to the world

and that was that.

Our second birthdays together

I gave you our babies

and you gave me courage and strength

to handle 3 kids in one house

and that was that.

Our 17th Super Bowl together

you reminded me of the slow-cooker you gave me on

our first super bowl together

and I gave you a peck on the forehead when you

slept in our family's house.

17 years after you gave the slow-cooker

here it is sitting in our kitchen

set in the wrong setting at night

burning our family home

and that was that.

sad poetry
Like

About the Creator

Melina Giorgalletou

Just a college student from Cyprus, living in NYC, trying to find herself through words and writing.

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.