Poets logo

+& -

why limit yourself? You can find comfort in many things. Just try them out.

By Jay,when I writePublished 2 years ago 1 min read
Like
+& -
Photo by Dan Cristian Pădureț on Unsplash

Before

---------

beginning, easy. Easy. Calming. Just gotta focus, the answer is right there.

+ -

Go to the advanced stem class. I'm so smart!

elemetary school, a bit of a challenge. Maybe I'm not so smart?

+ - x

middle school, a failed attempt in a math class challenge

3.141592653...5...897? oh, 6

A miss opportunity, I knew it was 9 I promise! I'm sorry

middle school, I thought this meant to multiply? Now I have to find it?

X

high school, I give up. I don't care about triangles, who bought how many apples...

y=Y did I take this class! oh no! Take those exclamations back!

Art kids aren't supposed to be good at math anyway. That's like, the other side of the brain

high school psychology class=learning that's a myth.

xyzpleaseendme

high school, cheating.

- (the little sign next to the C)

There was no +ing knowledge for the rest of my career there, but it felt like it was -ing

college, I failed my first class

college, I almost failed my second attempt

coll--, I dropped out

on my own, 2020...who said I had to be good at English OR math?

relearn relearn

+ - x X a=mc^2

nothing has changed

when stressed, no control

go back to high school

shake your head at giving up

go back to the beginning

remember when you knew you could do things,

go back to focusing, breathe

remember the answer has always been there

y=y did I ever give up?

inspirational
Like

About the Creator

Jay,when I write

Hello.

What?

23, Black, queer, yup

Reader insights

Be the first to share your insights about this piece.

How does it work?

Add your insights

Comments

There are no comments for this story

Be the first to respond and start the conversation.

Sign in to comment

    Find us on social media

    Miscellaneous links

    • Explore
    • Contact
    • Privacy Policy
    • Terms of Use
    • Support

    © 2024 Creatd, Inc. All Rights Reserved.